Posted in Author Interviews

Coffee Talks with Mukhpreet Khurana | Author Interview | Book Tour

I’ve enjoyed reading and conversing with Mukhpreet Khurana in the past and it has been a pleasant experience. And as I’m always bubbling with questions to ask authors, writers and poets, I finally got a chance to get some of them answered; thanks to Bookpreneur‘s book tour. So, here’s the transcript of the interview session with Mukhpreet Khurana, the poet whose latest book is Ease. I hope you enjoy it.

How would you describe what poetry means to you at a personal level?

Poetry to me is simplicity. It is a means to connect with the person I am, introspect, to bring out what breathes within. Poetry to me is me is a leap of faith that I’d take over and over again, all day, everyday.

How did you discover the poet in you?

Poetry came to me out of nowhere, just like the rains off season and timing these days and trust me, I’d say this again and again, I am glad it came to me. Poetry brings out words raw, unfiltered, simple, minimal, beautiful in flow. I suppose that is how I have admired life; Minimal yet grand in its own manner.

Can you guide the readers through your poetry writing process?

To be honest, poetry writing is beyond process. I believe it is best when words come, rather hit you in the moment, right there, right then, raw, unfiltered, hitting like an ocean wave so ruthless and at the same time, peaceful in its own like a gift from nature. Poetry according to me is don’t justice to when embraced and walked along with in flow, in its own transcendence.

What do you think is an ideal writer’s schedule?

I think the key here is consistency. For a few writers, being regular, having writing timings etc. can be useful while for a few others, being in the moment, letting words come works. The key here is to work with what you know works for you, and being consistent in writing through both, good and  bad spells alike.

Who/what is your biggest source of inspiration?

Inspiration breathes everywhere, breathes in everyone and in every single fragment that governs existence and beyond, in the supernatural, the superficial, too. To me, it all comes from the self and nature, for that is where we come from, that is where we shall ultimately pay our respects and blend our rites into.

If someone who knows you closely, reads your work, does he/she discovers a special or hidden meaning?

I have been privileged to have such amazing readers be it known or unknown who have the willingness to embrace my writing for what it is, who allow themselves to let their guards down to make peace with what the writing has to offer. I believe every single reader of mine finds hidden meanings or related to the words in ways only they know how powerful the whole experience is. All I can say, I am eternally grateful to all my readers.

As a published author, what your suggest wanna-be poets and authors to opt for: Traditional or Self Publishing?

Traditional v/s Self Publishing is a decision that is best when taken by the writers themselves. Depending on their purposes, intentions and goals related to their writing, I’d say to each their own. I believe we somehow just know what to do. It might take time, it sure never disappoints for the greater good.

Not to forget, the book tour is still going on and there’s a lot for you to enjoy including Mukhpreet’s poetry and more interviews. Details are as:

Author:

Indie Author, Blogger & Journalist

Leave a comment